WOW Snowy Monday Feb 18th, 2013

I took a vacation day today. I am so glad I did that. The snow started here pretty heavy yesterday afternoon and continued through the evening and into the early morning hours. There is a lot of snow outside. The snow drifts in some areas are a much as 5 feet high. I sure hope it warms up soon and this is the last of it. I know wishful thinking. There is still a month left to winter. On sunny days you can really feel the strength of the sun.

So I didn’t have any green juice on Saturday or Sunday. I resumed my juice drinking this morning. My juice consisted of several kale leaves, several celery stalks, a cucumber, 4 okra, about a 1/3 cup of parsley, a small head of broccoli, 2 carrots, a green pepper, about a 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp of turmeric and 1 tbsp chia seeds. Chia seeds are thought to aid in relief from the pain of arthritis, which I have in both knees (more in the right) and my left foot and maybe a bit in my ankles. I believe the weight loss will aid in that alone but I’ll try anything natural for a bit of relief now.

Image

You can see some chia seeds floating near the bottom.

My quinoa is starting to sprout. Hopefully tomorrow evening after work I will be able to have a Quinoa Salad.

Last night for supper I made Zucchini Pasta and Marinara Sauce. I found the recipe here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Y_76k1BE8I

Here is a picture of the one I made. It was so delicious. You would never know the sauce was raw. It is truly satisfying.

Image

Now I want to address how I felt by not having my green juice for breakfast. For breakfast on Sunday I had a large bowl of fruit, melons and strawberries. I went out in the afternoon and had a cranberry pomegranate tea and then when I got home I was so hungry I had a bowl of red grapes. When about hour later I had a huge serving of Zucchini Past and Marinara Sauce and I was stuffed. However about an hour or 2 later I was starving again and really had a bad craving for something cooked and unhealthy. I had a bowl of popcorn and added some olive oil and Himalayan salt and had 4 dates. That satisfied the salty and the sweet. The only cooked food I eat is popcorn. I have it about 2-3 times a week. When I have some its about 4-5 cups. My point is though when I don’t drink the green juice my body isn’t get nourished properly and it is putting into place the natural process of craving. We crave food because our bodies need something we are not giving them. Feed your body with the nutrients its needs and it doesn’t go into the craving mode.

I started dieting when I was 17 years old. My first experience was weight watchers. Back then which was thirty years ago it was a very strict diet. You had to have this amount of breads, and this amount of proteins and this amount of vegetables etc. It worked. I managed to lose a lot of weight and enjoy my last year in high school very much. However the weight came back on and more. When I turned 22 was pregnant with my oldest son Nick. I gained a whopping 80 lbs during the pregnancy. I was able to lose a little but not all of it. In 1992 I became pregnant with my youngest son Josh, again I gained a lot of weight, 60 lbs in total. My weight was close to 300 lbs. In 1994 I became pregnant with my youngest child a girl Kristin, not sure if because it was a girl or not but with this pregnancy I didn’t gain any weight at all. Thank goodness. I always had active jobs as I was a professionally trained cook. I did take a job in a call center in the center of the city I lived in and I lived in the north and walked home every day and managed to lose an impressive amount of weight and also became a vegetarian for about six months.  This job ended and I took a job in a restaurant that served a lot of fried foods. Well the meals were free and of course I partook. So on went the weight again.  However I ran into some health issues with my legs and required a job where I didn’t have to stand on my feet all day. That led to the world of call centers. I began with another call center in March 1999. Being so inactive for most of the day led to more weight gain. In 2002 I weight to weight watchers again. This time things were much more flexible and I lost a whopping 100 lbs. Unfortunately that only brought me down to 297 lbs. I gained a little bit back and then a little more. I went back up about 350lbs probably. Then in the magical summer of 2006 I discovered hiking. We have park where I live right in the middle of the city and it is one of largest parks within a city in Canada. I loved it. I went out every chance I got. I lost weight again went back down to around 300 lbs. I was very inactive in the winter though so managed to gain weight again. Seeing a trend yet? I’m a yoyo. In 2009 I started a diet again with a person trainer. She came into our work place. I guess when I started with her I was close to 370 lbs. I lost 100 pounds and did a lot of hiking in 2009 and 2010. In 2011 the arthritis in my knees got really bad and limited my hiking. 2012 was pretty much a write off as far as activity. So on Feb 3rd I found myself back up to 375.4 lbs. This morning when I got on the scales I was down to 357.4 lbs. So once again I’m going in the right direction. Over and above that I have done a lot of reading about the raw food way of life. I have never heard of so many healthy happy people. There has to be something to this. I feel it myself. Hopefully my knees allow me to get out and get active. If not I am going to join a local health facility that has a pool and at least I can get some low impact exercise.

I guess since I’m kinda snowed in its laundry/blogging day. For lunch I made a smoothie. It tastes good but the texture is a bit grainy. Not something I would want everyday but I wanted to try and use some of the stuff that is left after juicing. It is a lot of fibre. For example when you juice an apple you only eat the juice and the skin goes into a catch container. Well normally when I eat an apple I eat the skin, so I decided to use some of this fibre in my smoothie. I used about 1 and 1/2 cups. I think next time I’d cut it down to 1 cup. I added in 1 cup of strawberries, a banana, 3/4 cup coconut milk, 1/4 cup hemp seeds and about 2 tbls ground flax seeds and some spring water. I ended up with a 1L smoothie. Here is a picture:

High Fibre Smootie

My goal for the rest of the day is to drink at least 2L of water. I’ll need at least that much considering all the fibre I’ve had.

I think Caesar Salad will be on the menu for supper.

Leave a comment